Learning and Teaching

The Melbourne Declaration emphasises the importance of promoting equity and excellence, so that all students have the opportunity to be successful learners and confident, creative individuals in order to become active and informed citizens.  At Sacred Heart, we are planning, implementing and assessing using the Australian Curriculum.

Disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding are taught in the eight learning areas of the Australian Curriculum: 

  • English, 
  • Mathematics, 
  • Science, 
  • Health and Physical Education (including Daniel Morcome Curriculum), 
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship and Economics and Business) , 
  • The Arts (Music, Dance, Drama, Media and Visual Arts), 
  • Technologies ​​and 
  • Languages (Japanese in Year 5 and 6)​

Our school learning community values contemporary pedagogies to promote the experience of rich inquiry based teaching and learning which is differentiated to meet the needs and interests of our students.  Continuous monitoring of student progress in all subject areas is then reported to parents via interviews, formal written reports, portfolios and Celebrations of Learning.​